Leo & Diane Dillon: Science Fiction and Fantasy Book Covers

Leo and Diane Dillon have been recipients of the prestigious Hugo Award for Best Science Fiction For Fantasy Artist in 1971 (finalists in 1969 and 1970). They received the Balrog Award in 1982 for Achievement in Speculative Fiction, and Diane received the 2019 Chesley Award from the Association of Science Fiction & Fantasy Artist for Lifetime Achievement. The Dillons won the Caldecott Medal in 1976 and 1977, the only consecutive awards of the premier honor in U.S. picture book illustration. Leo was the first African American awarded a Caldecott Medal.. In 1978 they were the highly commended runner-up for the biennial, international Hans Christian Andersen Award for children’s illustrators; they were the U.S. nominee again in 1996. In addition , the Dillons have received four New York Times Best Illustrated Awards, four Boston Globe/Horn Book Awards, two Coretta Scott King Awards, and the Society of Illustrators Gold Medal.

Issac Asimov Books

Virginia Hamilton Books

L. Frank Baum Books

Madeline L’Engle Books

Garth Nix Books


Harlan Ellison Books

Jules Verne | 20,000 Leagues Under the Sea