Illustration Show Photos: 34th Annual Illustration Celebration


From left to right, front row: Mara Rockliff, Diane de Groat, Richard Michelson, Carol Weis, Artemis Roehrig. Barbara Elleman Second row: Gloria Jean Pinkney, Ekua Holmes, Olivier Dunrea, Lauren Castillo, Rosemary Wells, G. Brian Karas, Nancy Carpenter, Lauren Mills, Carol Munro, Emily Arnold Mccully, Michelle Cusolito, Leslea Newman, Sara Levine, Jane Dyer, Jane Breskin Zalben, Corinne Demas, Barbara Diamond Goldin, Jane Yolen. Back Row: Brian Pinkney, Ben Gundersheimer, Raúl Colón, Aaron Becker, Bob Alley, Hayley Rocco, John Rocco, Bryan Collier, Kate Feiffer, Kathryn Brown, Suzy Levinson, Barbara McClintock, David Johnson

The making of the annual group picture:

In the 34 years of this exhibit we have seen our artists garner 19 Caldecott Medals and 44 Caldecott Honor Awards; On six occasions when the Medal was announced, the winning work was already on view in our gallery, so come visit us or check out the works online. There is a good chance that the next Caldecott winning artwork is currently hanging on our walls.​

Bryan Collier and family
Left to right: G. Brian Karas, Richard Michelson, and Brian Pinkney
Right to left: David Johnson, Richard Michelson, and Barbara McClintock


Richard Michelson with Rosemary Wells
Richard Michelson with Jane Breskin Zalben with Beni’s challah
Emily Arnold McCully (right) with her editor Christy Ottaviano (left)
Gallery Owners Richard and Jennifer Michelson


Olivier Dunrea with editors Bethany Vinhateiro (left) and Mary Wilcox (right)
Leslea Newman with Raul Colón
Bob Alley with Eric Carle Museum Director of Education Courtney Waring
Rebecca Goggins, Eric Carle Museum Development Director with Antonia Young (daughter of Ed Young)


Richard Michelson with author/editor Francie Lin
From left to right: Barbara Diamond Goldin, Lauren Mills, Richard Michelson, Gloria Jean Pinkney, and Jane Yolen
From left to right: editors Concetta Gleason and Winsome Bingham, with Ekua Holmes and Richard Michelson
Barbara McClintock with Julie Gribble
Attendees at the gallery
Elissa Gershowitz, Editor-in-Chief of The Horn Book
From left to right: Emily Mccully, Rich Michelson, Susannah Richards, Diane deGroat, Mara Rockliff
Raúl Colón and Bryan Collier
Jane Dyer and Richard Michelson
Lauren Castillo with Richard Michelson
Left to right: Zoë Alley, Kate Feiffer, Bob Alley
Saige Lloyd and Aaron Becker
Gallery Attendees
Richard Michelson addressing the crowd